KirkwoodGolf: Claire Robertson and Kristy Brodie win team honours for Angus

Tuesday, June 07, 2016

Claire Robertson and Kristy Brodie win team honours for Angus

Jennifer Rankine wins weather-hit PLG 

Scottish schoolgirls' title
left to right: Shannon McWilliam (3rd), winner Jennifer Rankine, Alan Reid (Murrayshall Hotel operations manager) and Kirsty Brodie (2nd).

Everything's coming up roses for 15-year-old Jennifer Rankine. Last week she won the Clark Rosebowl match-play competition at the Scottish women's champioship at West Kilbride and today (Tuesday), she won the Paul Lawrie Foundation Scottish schoolgirls championship with a one-under-par round of 70.
The tournament at Murrayshall Hotel golf course near Perth was scheduled for 36 holes but was cut to one round when play was suspended for "imminent thunder and lightning."
Rankine  had a mixed bag of figures - an eagle 3 at the par-5 ninth, birdies at the third, 11th, 15th and 18th plus a double bogey 6 at at the 13th and bogeys at the first, 12th and 17th in halves of 35.
 Local hope Kirsty Brodie (Strathmore) finished second, two behind with a 72 (36-36) with Shannon McWilliam (Aboyne) third with a 73 which included a double bogey 6 at the 10th in halves of 36-37.
Defending champion Emma Morrison (Craigmillar Park) finished tied 23 with a 91. 
Angus (Claire Robertson and Kirsty Brodie) won the team title with a 151 total. Dumbarton West (Jillian Farrell and Lorna McClymont) were runners-up with 153.
South Lanark were third with 157.

Par 71 SSS 71 CSS 72
70 Jennifer Rankine (Haggs Castle)
72 Kirsty Brodie (Strathmore)
73 Shannon McWilliam (Aboyne) 
74 Jillian Farrell (Cardross), Louise Duncan (West Kilbride)
75 Molly Richmond (Strathaven)
78 Megan Ashley (Strathmore), Evanna Hynd (Balbirnie Park),  Jasmine Mackintosh (Hazlehead)
79 Lorna McClymont (Milngavie), Claire Robertson (Carnoustie Ladies), Joanne Free (Gullane), Megan  Linton (Craigmillar Park).
82 Susan Woodhouse (East Kilbride)
85 Carys Irvine (Craigielaw), Maria Cowan (Wigtownshire)
86 Zoe Morton (Auchterarder), Charlene Wilson (St Regulus).
88 Anna McKay (Crail GS) 
89 Eilidh Crawford (Kingsfield), Jodie Taylor (Downfield).
90 Anna Mackenzie (East Renfrewshire)
91 Porscha Wilson (Burntisland), Emma Morrison (Craigmillar Park)
92 Emily Usner (unatt)
94 Shannon Pook (Auchterarder)
95 Claire McLoughlin (West Kilbride), Katriona Taylor (Crieff).
96 Karla Klostermann (unatt), Lucy Buckley (Huntly).
97 Hannah Braidwood (Huntly)
99 Lucy Morrison (Craigmillar Park)
106 Samantha McKay (Loudoun Gowf).
Withdrew: Mirren Fraser (Powfoot), KirstenWatson (Deeside)
No show: Justine Fulton (Hayston)