Sunday, May 08, 2016

Elaine Moffat wins Fife county championship 

again - 20 years after first victory

Former Scottish women's amateur champion Elaine Moffat (St Regulus) won the Fife women's county championship at Ladybank Golf Club today for a fourth time.
Her first win came in 1996, not 2000 as we thought. Her success in the year 2000 was actually Elaine's SECOND title win. She won for a third time in 2006.

This was Elaine's sixth appearance (at least) in the county final. We are not sure about pre-2000 finals!

She beat the 2012 and 2013 champion Susan Jackson (Ladybank) by two holes in the morning semi-final and then was a 3 and 2 winner over Lynn Newton (Dunnikier Park), who had toppled the title-holder, Dianne Watson, by 3 and 2 in the other semi-final.
Hannah Braidwood (Ladybank) won the Handicap Championship. She beat Maggi Seymour (St Regulus) by two holes in the final.


Elaine Moffat (St Regulus) bt Susan Jackson (Ladybank) 2 holes. Lynn Newton (Dunnikier) bt Dianne Watson (Leven GS)  3 and 2
Moffat bt Newton 3 and 2

Hannah Braidwood (Ladybank) bt Nancy Mitchell (Kirkcaldy) 7 and 6.
Maggi Seymour (St Regulus) bt Margaret Kilpatrick (Dunnikier) 2 holes.

Braidwood bt Seymour 2 holes.
 FIFE prizewinners (left to right) county captain Linda Dyball, Lynn Newton (championship beaten finalist), Elaine Moffat (championship winner), Hannah Braidwood (handicap champion), Ladybank GC president Lorna Bennett who presented the prizes.

+Thanks to Alma Robertson for providing the above pictures.