KirkwoodGolf: Ballybunion are All-Ireland women's four-ball champions

Sunday, October 04, 2015

Ballybunion are All-Ireland women's four-ball champions


2015 All-Ireland Miele Four-ball Champions, Ballybunion
For the second consecutive year, a Munster club has been crowned Miele All-Ireland Four-ball Champions. The sun shone brightly over Newlands Golf Club early this morning for the final of the Miele All-Ireland Four-ball Championship. 
The Ballybunion and Rockmount teams descended on the golf course before 10am and brought with them crowds of supporters and spectators.  Rockmount had the honour on the first tee as ILGU President Valerie Hassett welcomed both teams and wished them well in their respective matches.
The top match was a game of nip and tuck but Ballybunion took a two hole advantage through 12 and never let go as they secured a 3 and 1 victory. The pairings in the second game were evenly matched throughout but the Ballybunion pairing took a one hole lead approaching the 18th.   
Matches three and four took a different path as Ballybunion dominated the third and Rockmount the fourth as a point was secured for each side on the 14th.  With a 3 and 1 victory in the top match and a 5 and 4 win in the third, the Munster side had secured enough points over Region 2’s Rockmount to seal victory and take home the Miele All-Ireland Four-ball title.

Rockmount 1 ½, Ballybunion 2 ½
Jo Donaldson (11)  and Maureen Entwistle (13) lost to Mary Sheehy (4) and Maeve Barrett (18) 3 and 1
Andrea Watson (12) and Leonie Power (15) halved with Margaret McAuliffe (6) and  Anne O'Riordan (17) (called in)
Jan Linsday (12) and Barbara Fleet (17) lost to Pat Joyce (10) and Geraldine Williams (14) 5 and 4
Ciara Agnew (11) and Maire Donnelly (20) bt Caitriona Corrigan (9) and Bernie Moloney (21) 5 and 4