KirkwoodGolf: Press Release

Thursday, December 06, 2007

Press Release


Cheshire’s Ruth Whitehead has taken on a key role in the campaign to drive forward women’s golf. Ruth is the first chairman of the operational board of the new English Women’s Golf Association, which comes into being on January 1.
“We are at a very exciting and challenging time in the development of the association,” said Ruth, who is a member at Delamere Forest Golf Club. “I will do my best to ensure the association is a vibrant and efficient organisation.”
EWGA, a company limited by guarantee, will replace the English Ladies’ Golf Association. It will be run by a management board with the business skills to drive forward women’s golf while the operational board will look after golfing activities.
Ruth’s position as operational board chairman was confirmed at the final annual meeting of ELGA at the Russell Hotel in London. She will be joined on the board by the chairmen of EWGA’s six regions, who will represent the counties.
Ruth was elected to the ELGA executive after serving on the Northern division committee. She is a rules expert who has passed the R&A referees exam and has been on duty at national competitions. She has chaired ELGA’s rules and regulations committee which, among other work, arranged rules seminars for members.
Her home club is Delamere Forest, where she has been a member for over 30 years. She has been ladies’ captain at Sandbach in Cheshire, where she took up the game as a 14-year-old, and also at Royal St David, Harlech. She is also chairman of the Northern vets.
The other members of the new operational board will be:
Barbara Brooke (Abbeydale), representing Cheshire, Cumbria, Durham, Lancashire, Northumberland and Yorkshire.
Midlands North:
Sally Goulds (Wrekin), representing Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Shropshire and Staffordshire.
Midlands South:
Anne Andrews (Little Aston), representing Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire & Herefordshire.
Anne Pyke (Brocket Hall) representing Bedfordshire, Cambs & Hunts, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk.
Margaret Berriman (Goring and Streetley), representing Hampshire, Kent, Middlesex, Surrey and Sussex.
South West:
Sue Rawles (Tewkesbury Park), representing Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset, Wiltshire.

Lyndsey Hewison
Press & PR Officer
Tel. 01603 507 416