Monday, July 28, 2003


Monifieth's Kathryn Marshall was the only Scot to come through Monday's Final Qualifier at Fairhaven for the Weetabix Women's British Open which starts at Royal Lytham & St Annes on Thursday.
Only 13 places in the exempt field for the championship were on offer to a field of more than 80 competitors at Fairhaven and Kathryn made it with nothing to spare with a round of two-under-par 72.
Laurette Mariz (South Africa) was the No 1 qualifier with a fine round of seven-under-par 67 for the 6,275yd par-74 women's course.
Clare Queen (Drumpellier), a member of the victorious Great Britain & Ireland team in the Vagliano Trophy match at Co Louth last Friday and Saturday, fellow Scotland international Heather MacRae (Dunblane) and tour pro Lesley Nicholson from Haddington all hit the one-over 75 mark, three shots to many to get into the championship.
Former French Open champion Julie Forbes from Aboyne failed on 78 and there were disappointing rounds of 79 for Vikki Laing (Musselburgh) and Fame More (Chesterfield), two more from the Vagliano Trophy-winning team in Ireland.
67 Laurette Maritz (SA).
70 Mandy Adamson (SA).
71 Diane Irvin (US), Karen Davies (Wal), Karen Margrethe Juul (Den), Asa Gottmo (Swe).
72 Georgina Simpson (Eng), Alex Keighley (am) (Eng), Kathryn Marshall (Sco), Christina Kuld (Den), Filippa Helmersson (Swe), Florence Descampe (Bel), Sarah Heath (Eng).
73 Wendy Dicks (Eng), Tamara Hyett (Aus), Alexandra Armas (Spa), Nicole Dalkas (US), Anna Becker (Swe), Natascha Fink (Aut), Marina Arruti (Spa), Nienke Nijenhuis (Net).
74 Riikka Hakkarainen (Fin), Tina Fischer (Ger), Federica Piovano (Ita), Mikaela Parmlid (am) (Swe), Jane Leary (Aus).
75 Heather MacRae (Sco), Clare Queen (Sco), Lesley Nicholson (Sco), Jenni Kuosa (Fin), Marieke Zelsman (Net), Kirsty S Taylor (Eng), Nicole Stillig (Ger), Maria Boden (Swe), Smriti Mehra (India).
76 Diane Barnard (Eng), Joanne Oliver (Eng).
77 Suzanne Dickens (Eng), Kerry Knowles (Eng).
78 Julie Forbes (Sco), Marta Prieto (Spa), Lisa Walters (Eng).
79 Fame More (Eng), Vikki Laing (Sco).
80 Hazel Kavanagh (Ire), Kirsty Fisher (Eng).
82 Anna Highgate (Wal).