Wednesday, June 07, 2017

For only the second time in the post-World War II years, the 32
qualifiers for the match-play stages of the Scottish women's amateur golf championship have been decided on scores returned in one round instead of the traditional 36-hole eliminator.
There was no play at Royal Aberdeen Golf Club today (WED) because of winds gusting over 40mph and making putting impossible on the more exposed greens, such as the first.
The second qualifying round in the 103rd national championship was cancelled at 12.30 because it would have been touch and go for the field of 70 to have got round in daylight with the possibility of a play-off for the last match-play spots also to be taken into consideration.
The 32 qualifiers for the championship's match-play stages were decided on the basis of Tuesday's first round scores (88 and better was the qualifying mark) and also the Clark Rosebowl, the tournament's No. 2 match-play event, had its field of 16 players
decided the same way.
Those with very long memories can recall that one year in the 1950s, when the Old Course, St Andrews, was the venue, a blunder by the greenkeeping staff, who cut new holes, during a bad-weather hold-up during the first qualifying round, forced the SLGA to discount the scores because the old/new holes had not been the same for all the competitors
That left only the second qualifying round as the basis for match-play qualification.
Louise Duncan (West Kilbride), whose Tuesday score 79 would have made her the seventh qualifier, withdrew from the match-play. That meant there was the precise figure of 32 qualifiers from those with scores of 88 and better.
Defending champion Ailsa Summers (Carnoustie Ladies) is through to play another former Angus champion Jacqueline Cameron (Blairgowrie) in the first round and other intriguing ties in prospect include Eilidh Watson (Muckhart) against St Rule Trophy winner and 2015 Scottish champion Clara Young (North Berwick), Hannah McCook (Grantown on Spey) versus former champion Gabrielle MacDonald (Craigielaw) and Heather Munro (Monifieth) against Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies).  

There are eight North and North-east players through to the championship's match-play stages:
Shannon McWilliam (Aboyne), Hannah McCook (Grantown on Spey), Megan Robb (Peterculter), Margaret Sievwright (Maverston), Carinne Taylor (Nairn), Jasmine Mackintosh (Hazlehead), Rachael Polson (Kemnay) and Kimberley Beveridge (Aboyne).
Cara Thompson (Royal Dornoch) is the top seed in the Clark Rosebowl in which Aberdeen Ladies clubmates Sheena Wood and Fiona Seedhouse will meet in a first-round tie. 
The championship match-play first round automatic draw and tee times for this (Thursday) morning are (players' qualifying number in brackets):
8.30 Chloe Goadby (St Regulus Ladies) (1) v Molly Richmond (Strathaven) (36).
8.38 Susan Wood (Drumpellier) (16) v Karen Ferguson-Snedden (Duddingston) (17).
8.46 Katie Wright (Stranraer) (8) v Kirsty Brodie (Strathmore) (25)
8.54 Jillian Farrell (Cardross) (9) v Hannah Scott ((Broomieknowe) (24).
9.02 Shannon McWilliam (Aboyne) (4) v Margo Gardner (Linlithgow) (29).
9.10 Hannah McCook (Grantown on Spey) (13) v Gabrielle MacDonald (Craigielaw) (20).
9:18 Gillian Paton (Royal Montrose) v Megan Robb (Peterculter GC)
9.26 Heather Munro (Monifieth) (12) v Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) (21).
9.34 Carinne Taylor (Nairn) (11) v Margaret Sievwright (Maverston) (22).
9.42 Tara Mactaggart (Minto) (6) v Elaine Moffat (St Regulus Ladies) (27).
9.50 Jacqueline Cameron (Blairgowrie) (14) v Ailsa Summers (Carnoustie Ladies) (19).
9.58 Jennifer Saxton (Muckhart) (3) v Jasmine Mackintosh (Hazlehead) (30).
10.06 Eilidh Watson (Muckhart) (10) v Clara Young (North Berwick) (23).
10.14 Jennifer Rankine (Haggs Castle) (7) v Rachel Polson (Kemnay) (26).
10.22 Karen Marshall (Baberton) (15) v Anna McKay (Crail GS) (18).
10.30 Emma Hale (Troon Ladies) (2) v Kimberley Beveridge (Aboyne) (31).

+The winners will meet in second-round afternoon ties from approximately 1.30pm onwards.
10.46 Clara Thompson (Royal Dornoch) (1) v Megan McInnes (Bearsden) (16).
10.54 Sheena Wood (Aberdeen Ladies) (8) v Fiona Seedhouse (Aberdeen Ladies) (9).
11.02 Porscha Wilson (Burntisland) (5)  Kirsten Blackwood (Glencorse) (13).
11.10 Stacey Cameron (Gullane) (5) v Carol Wilson (Murcar Links) (12).
11.18 Wendy Nichlson (Baberton) (6) v Sarah Stichbury (Gullane) (11).
11.26 Sammy Leslie (Aberdeen Ladies) (3) v Ellie Docherty (Moray) (14).
11.34 Louise Anderson (Duff House Royal)( (7) v Leanne Wilson (Kelso) (10).
11.42 Lorna McClymont (Milngavie) (2) v Ruth Hunter (Lanark) (15).