Thursday, June 11, 2015

No Scots in last 16 of "British" at Portstewart
   Connie Jaffrey drives from the first tee in her second round match against American Doris Chen.
                                       Picture by Cal Carson Golf Agency

The last 16 of the British women's open amateur golf championship does not include any Scots after first Heather Munro (Monifieth) and then Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) were KO'd on the first day of the match-play stages at Portstewart Golf Club, Northern Ireland.
Munro, the eighth best qualifier, was one up at the turn in her first-round tie against Fatima Fernandez but the Spaniard then took a grip on the proceedings to be three up after 14 holes and win the match by 3 and 2.
Jaffrey won a titantic morning struggle - lasting the best par of five hours - before beating one Ireland's top players, Maria Dunne (Skerries) at the 21st.
Jaffrey had been three up on the 15th tee before Dunn staged a grandstand finish to take the tie into extra holes before the Scot finally won with a par at the third extra hole.
The sun and the hours spent out in it took their toll of the Kilwinning youngster who was beaten 5 and 4 by American Doris Chen in the late afternoon second round. Connie had been four down at the turn.
World No 1 female amateur Leona Maguire is looking mighty impressive ... top seed by  six shots and then a combined 10 under par - without a single bogey - in winning her first two ties by 8 and 6 and then 4 and 3.
But it is not all over bar the shouting ... yet.
There are some useful players still in the tournament, including Leona's Duke University teampmate and a former World No 1, Celine Boutier (France), not to mention the Europe No 3 from Sweden, Madalene Sagstrom.

Portstewart GC, Northern Ireland.
Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) bt Martina Edberg (Swe) 8 and 6.
Camille Chevalier (Fra) bt Linnea Johansson (Swe)  6 and 5.
Lucrezia  Rosso (Ita) bt Jessica Carty (Holywood) 2 and 1.
Joanna Charlton (Australia) bt Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell) 4 and 3
Linnea Strom (Swe) bt Alexandra Bonetti (Fra) 4 and 3.
Bethan Popel (Long Ashton) bt Jennifer Ha (Can) at 19th
Brittany Marchand (Can) bt Leonie Harm (Ger) 1 hole.
Fatima Fernandez (Spa) bt Heather Munro (Monifieth) 4 and 3.
Frida Kinhult (Swe) bt Katarina Viasinova (Cze) 3 and 2.
Maddie Szeryk (Can) bt Meghan MacLaren (Wellingborough) 1 hole.
Jenny Haglund (Swe) bt Harang Lee (Spa) 6 and 5.
Leslie Cloots (Bel) bt Ludovica Farina (Ita) 3 and 2.
Elizabeth Prior (Burhill) bt India Clyburn (Woodhall) at 19th
Olivia Mehaffey (Royal Co Down) bt Lianna Bailey (Kirby Muxloe) 5 and 4.
Ines Lescudier (Fra) bt Inci Mehmet (Royal Mid Surrey) 2 holes
Madelene Sagstrom (Swe) bt Dulcie Sverdlof (Garons Park) 3 and 2

Celine Boutier (Fra) bt Ellinor Haag (Swe) 5 and 4.
Rachel Rossel (Swi) bt Camilla Hedberg (Spa) 3 and 2.
Doris Chen (USA) bt Jessica Ross (Donaghadee) 6 and 5
Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) bt Maria Dunne (Skerries) at 21st
Olivia Cowan (Ger) bt Hannele Mikkola (Fin) 5 and 4.
Aditi Ashok (India) bt Emily Pentilla (Fin) at 19th
Mathilda Cappilliez (Fra) bt Giola Carpinelli (Swi) 2 and 1.
Luna Sobron (Spa) bt Samantha Fuller (Roehampton) 5 and 4.
Nuria Iturrios (Spa) bt Kristen Gillman (USA) 1 hole.
Elizabeth Tong (Can) bt Agathe Sauzon (Fra) at 19th
Charlotte De Corte (Bel) bt Natalia Escuriola (Spa) 2 and 1
Nastja Banovec (Slovena) bt Sophie Keech (Parkstone) at 20th
Kim Metraux (Swi) bt Katie Mitchell (USA) 8 and 6
Paula Grant (Lisburn) bt Hadas Libman (Isr) 4 and
Elin Osborn (Swe) bt Carlotta Ricolfi (Ita) 4 and 3
Linn Andersson (Swe) bt Jessica Bradley (Tiverton) 2 holes.

Leona Maguire bt Chevalier 4 and 3
Charlton bt Rosso 3 and 2
Strom bt Popel 1 hole
Marchand bt Fernandez 1 hole
Szeryk bt Kinhult 1 hole.
Cloots bt Haglund 3 and 2.
Mehaffey bt Prior 3 and 1
Sagstrom bt Lescudier 1 hole.

Boutier bt Rossel 1 hole
Chen bt Jaffrey 5 and 4.
Cowan bt Ashok 2 and 1
Sobron bt Cappilliez 3 and 2
Tong bt Itturios 4 and 3
De Corte bt Banovec 1 hole
Grant bt Metraux 1 hole.
Esborn bt Andersson 3 and 2.

8.30 Leona Maguire (Ireland) v Joanna Charlton (Australia)
8.40 Linnea Strom (Sweden) v Brittany Marchand (Canada)
8.50 Maddie Szeryk (Canada) v Leslie Cloots (Belgium)
9.00 Olivia Mehaffey (Ireland) v Madelene Sagstrom (Sweden)
9.10 Celine Boutier (France) v Doris Chen (United States)
9.20 Olivia Cowan (Germany) v. Luna Sobron (Spain)
9.30 Elizabeth Tong (Canada) v Charlotte de Corte (Belgium_
9.40 Paula Grant (Ireland) v Elin Esborn (Sweden)