KirkwoodGolf: Irish senior women's close championship at Castletroy

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Irish senior women's close championship at Castletroy

Laura Webb halfway leader in chase for match-play qualifying
Defending champion Laura Webb (East Berkshire) leads the qualifiers by one stroke after a 76 in the first round of the Irish Senior Women's Close Championship at Castletroy

In blustery but dry conditions, Webb was out in level par 38 and home in one over par 37 to lead the field from last year’s beaten finalist Carol Wickham (Laytown and Bettystown) with Mary MacLaren (Royal Portrush) just one stroke further back on 78 and Gertie McMullen (Island) on 79.
The field will play a further 18 holes over the immaculate parkland layout at Castletroy tomorrow Wednesday, with the top 16 qualifying for matchplay over the following two days. Players in positions seventeen through thirty-two will qualify for the Plate matchplay.

par 74 SSS75 CSS 76
75 Laura Webb (East Berkshire)
76 Carol Wickham (Laytown & Bettystown)
78 Mary MacLaren (Royal Portrush)
79 Gertie McMullen (Island)
81 Catherine Reilly (The Heath), Mary Dowling (Mallow)
82 Violet McBride (Belvoir Park), Phil O'Gorman (Laytown & Bettystown), Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna)
84 Julie Barkman (Nenagh), Sheena McElroy (Grange), Vivienne Houston (City of Derry), Mary Duane (Hermitage), Eilish Ahern (Callan), Pat Doran (Donabate)
85 Valerie Shannon (Lahinch)
86 Anita McCaw (Royal Co. Down Ladies), Marjorie Ahern (Lahinch)
87 Catherine Bird (Nenagh), Valerie Hassett (Ennis), Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire)
88 Pauline Walsh (Headfort), Glory Ryan (Castletroy), Fionnuala McGrady (Dunmurry), Evelyn Donnelly (Lisheen Springs)
89 Fiona McComb (Ballycastle), Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast), Ann Monteith (Slieve Russell), Fiona Corbett (Castletroy)
90 Helen Jones (Royal Portrush), Catherine Kavanagh (Mitchelstown), Kate Evans (Royal Co. Down Ladies), Toni McDonagh (Fortwilliam)
91 Rita O'Neill (Callan), Mary Geaney (Killarney), Eileen Kenny - Ryan (Ballybunion), Fiona Glass (Ballycastle)
92 Ethna Leonard (Castletroy)
93 Josette O'Donnell (Ballybunion)
94 Mary Byrne (Castletroy), Maria O'Connor (Castleisland), Mary Mather (Cill Dara)
95 Trudy Brosnan (Kanturk), Anne Marie Carroll (Ballybunion), Eithne Hehir (Ballyneety)
96 Yvonne Cassidy (Castletroy)
98 Ailish Diliger (Limerick)
99 Sighle Henigan (Ballybunion), Marion Cummins (Castletroy), Mary O'Donoghue (Ballybunion), Anne Wemyss (Callan)
100 Hilary Harte (Monkstown)
103 Ruth Maguire (Corrstown)

09:00 Anne Marie Carroll (Ballybunion) Anne Wemyss (Callan)
09:10 Catherine Kavanagh (Mitchelstown) Fiona Glass (Ballycastle) Mary Mather (Cill Dara)
09:20 Marion Cummins (Castletroy) Mary Geaney (Killarney) Trudy Brosnan (Kanturk)
09:30 Gertie McMullen (The Island) Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) Pat Doran (Donabate)
09:40 Mary O'Donoghue (Ballybunion) Eilish Ahern (Callan) Yvonne Cassidy (Castletroy)
09:50 Violet McBride (Belvoir Park) Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire) Mary Dowling (Mallow)
10:00 Pauline Walsh (Headfort) Kate Evans (RCD Ladies) Ruth Maguire (Corrstown)
10:10 Mary MacLaren (Royal Portrush) Laura Webb (East Berkshire) Helen Jones (Royal Portrush)
10:20 Carol Wickham (Laytown & Bettystown) Sheena McElroy (Grange) Catherine Reilly (The Heath)
10:40 Maria O'Connor (Castleisland) Josette O'Donnell (Ballybunion) Mary Byrne (Castletroy)
10:50 Eileen Kenny Ryan (Ballybunion) Ailish Diliger (Limerick) Hilary Harte (Monkstown)
11:00 Ann Monteith (Slieve Russell) Fionnuala McGrady (Dunmurry) Julie Barkman (Nenagh)
11:10 Glory Ryan (Castletroy) Sighle Henigan (Ballybunion) Ethna Leonard (Castletroy)
11:20 Rita O'Neill (Callan) Valerie Shannon (Lahinch) Fiona Corbett (Castletroy)
11:30 Valerie Hassett (Ennis) Anita McCaw (RCD Ladies) Toni McDonagh (Fortwilliam)
11:40 Catherine Bird (Nenagh) Mary Duane (Hermitage) Phil O'Gorman (Laytown & Bettystown)
11:50 Evelyn Donnelly (Lisheen Springs) Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast) Vivienne Houston (City of Derry)
12:00 Majorie Ahern (Lahinch) Fiona McComb (Ballycastle) Eithne Hehir (Ballyneety)

Further details available from:
Denise McCarthy

Irish Ladies Golf Union
103-105 Q House | 76 Furze Road
Sandyford Industrial Estate | Dublin 18 | Ireland
T +353 (0)1 2934833 | F +353 (0)1 2934832 | E