Tuesday, September 25, 2012


LGU Peugeot winners Elaine Cochrane (left centre) and Tina Hollyoak (right centre), with sponsors reprsentative Sam Meacock and Gillian Kirkwood, chairman of the Ladies Golf Union, at the prizegiving dinner in St Andrews last night.

Hertfordshire pair Tina Hollyoake and Elaine Cochrane from the Manor of Groves Golf and Country Club, have come through from an entry in excess of 30,000 at club level to win the LGU's Peugeot Coronation Foursomes Grand Final on a wet and windy day over the Eden Course, St Andrews.
Tina (handicap 17) and Elaine (handicap 15) topped the field of 16 pairs who had qualified by winning regional finals throughout the UK and Ireland, with a total of 33pt.
It was a tight finish with Hollyoake and Cochrane winning on a card countback from another pair who totalled 33pt,
Diane Melling (handicap 17) and Jean Sidebottom (handicap 24) from Shaw Hill Hotel Golf Club, Lancashire.
The winners scored 4pt at two holes, the 12th and 13th, which helped them to score 19pt on the inward half.
Diane Melling and Jean Sidebottom had halves of 16pt and 17pt.
Two pairs finished with 31pt to their credit. Third place prize, by virtue of having a better inward half, went to the Irish pairing of Fiona Carroll and Mary Ryan from Galway Bay
Also on the 31pt mark were Emma Bullock and Sarah Clapp from Worthing.
Points totals and final placings:
1st Tina Hollyoake (handicap 17) and Elaine Cochrane (handicap 15) (Manor of Groves) 33pt (better inward half).
2nd Diane Melling (17) and Jean Sidebottom (24) (Shaw Hill Hotel) 33pt.
3rd Fiona Carroll (6) and Mary Ryan (21) ()Galway Bay) 31pt (better inward half).
4th Emma Bullock (10) and Sarah Clapp (17) (Worthing)  31pt
5th Diane Nickels (11) and Donna Mulhern (20) (Mount Ober) 30pt.
6th Pauline Dobson (2) and Lesley Jennings (3) (South Moor) 29pt.
7th Sue Canty (22) and Angela Maund (27) (Merrist Wood) 28pt.
8th Pearl Crossen (10) and Anne Gollogly (12) (Saltburn by the Sea) 27pt
9th Sarah Rees (20)  and Kay Harcombe (27) (St Mary's) 26pt
T10th Pat Morris  (11) and Lianne Muirhead (11) (Dunbracken Ladies) 25pt
T10th Janette Cassells (19) and Audrey McKeown (20) (Kirkcaldy)  25pt.
12th Joan Mair (17) and Joyce Roxburgh (36) (Deeside) 24pt
T13th Wendy Scales (14) and Gill Turner (12) (Stockbrook Manor).
T13th Patricia Nixon (15) and Linda Steele (14) (Ely City) 23pt
15th Rebecca Randle (4) and Jo Billingham (10) (Enville) 22pt.
16th Trudy Feltham (13) and Alexandra Feltham (11) (Chippenham) 21pt