Wednesday, May 05, 2010

Pamela Pretswell, university exams cost her chance of national title (image by Cal Carson Golf Agency; click on it to enlarge).



Neither of the Scots chosen to play in next month's Curtis Cup match in America - Sally Watson and Pamela Pretswell - is in the field of 75 players for the 97th staging of the Scottish women's amateur (closed) golf championship at Craigielaw Golf Club, Aberlady from May 18 to 22.
Sally Watson is a student at Stanford University, California, and Hamilton-based Pamela Pretswell is a student at Glasgow University. Pretswell will be sitting the last of her third-year (junior honours) exams in her Business & Management degree course on May 20.
Pamela's only competitive appearance in Scotland between now and the Curtis Cup will be the St Rule Trophy tournament at St Andrews on May 29-30.
Megan Briggs (Kilmacolm) beat Louise Kenney (Pitreavie) 4 and 3 in last year's final at Southerness and could be running into form at just the right time again. Megan won the West of Scotland women's championship by five shots at Cardross on Sunday.
Kenney, bitterly disappointed at not even being named a reserve for the Curtis Cup, will be out to prove a point at Craigielaw. She finished joint third in the "Helen Holm" at Troon two weekends ago and fourth in the Welsh women's open amateur stroke-play at Southerndown last Sunday.
Jane Turner (Craigielaw) and Elaine Moffat (St Regulus) were beaten semi-finalists in the "Scottish" 12 months ago.
Although the championship is played off scratch, the favourite on paper must be Curtis Cup first reserve Kelsey MacDonald (Nairn Dunbar). The Stirling University 19-year-old student has the lowest handicap (+2.5) in the field. Like Louise Kenney, Kelsey feels she had done enough to be named in the Great Britain & Ireland team of eight for Essex County Club, Massachusetts.
After 36 holes of stroke-play on the Tuesday and Wednesday, the 32 players with the lowest totals go into the match-play stages. The next 16 will contest the Clark Rosebowl.

Final entries for the Scottish women's championship with handicaps:
Ashley Ann Alston (Royal Montrose) 11.1
Heather Anderson (Alyth) 3.5
Lesley Atkins (Gullane) 2.8
Ailsa Bain (Peebles) 5.8
Linda Bain (Lochend) 5.2
Lorna Bennett (Ladybank) 0.8
Emma Bisset (Elie & Earlsferry) 7.3
Kirsten Blackwood (Craigmillar Park) 2.4
Megan Briggs (Kilmacolm) 0.3
Linda Caine (Dunbar) 5.3
Clare-Marie Carlton (Fereneze) 0.6
Jemma Chalmers (Monifieth) 9.6
Sheila Cuthbertson (Peebles) 3.3
Elaine Cuthill (Lanark) 2.7
Fiona de Vries (St Rule) 2.3
Linda Dyball (Pitreavie) 4.7
Rosie Everett (Craigielaw) 16.3
Fiona Farquharson (King James VI) 9.8
Noreen Fenton (Dunbar) 3.3
Louise Fraser (Kingsknowe) 2.6
Fiona Gilbert (Carnoustie) 3.2
Eileen Gillespie (Lochend) 10.5
Jordana Graham (Southerness) 4.2
Cara Gruber (Royal Dornoch) 0.3
Rachel Hanlon (St Regulus) 3.6
Jill Harrison (Cruden Bay) 3.8
Lesley Hendry (Routenburn) 2
Suzanne Ireland (Prestonfield) 9.3
Susan Jackson (Ladybank) 0.1
Louise Kenney (Pitreavie) +1.6
Anne Laing (Vale of Leven) 0.4
Samantha (Leslie Westhill) 2.5
Gabrielle MacDonald (Craigielaw) 3.2
Kelsey MacDonald (Nairn Dunbar) +2.5
Claire MacDonald (Gullane) 1.4
Tara MacTaggart (Minto) 6.4
Karen Marshall (Baberton) 2.4
Lindsay Mathie (Windyhill) 12.1
Kate McIntosh (Broomieknowe) 6.3
Ruth McIntyre (Windyhill) 12.4
Alyson McKechin (Elderslie) 2.8
Laura McLardy (Duff House Royal) 3.8
Jill McNicoll (Gullane) 7
Rachael McQueen (Troon Ladies) 1.7
Jessica Meek (Carnoustie Ladies) 6.5
Elaine Moffat (St Regulus) 0.8
Diane Moncrieff (Lochend) 10.2
Gillian Monteith (Portpatrick Dunskey) +0.7
Laura Murray (Alford) +1.2
Wendy Nicholson (Broomieknowe) 3
Emily Ogilvy (Auchterarder) +0.3
Martine Pow (Selkirk) +1
Alexandra Qayum (Ranfurly Castle) 25
Natasha Qayum (Ranfurly Castle) 5.9
Ann B Ramsay (Kirriemuir) 0.4
Hannah Scott (Broomieknowe) 9.1
Gillian Simpson (Murrayfield) 4.8
Jacqueline Sneddon (Alyth) 2.1
Ailsa Summers (Carnoustie Ladies) 3
Mary Summers (Carnoustie Ladies) 3.6
Rachael Taylor (Hartl Golf Resort, Germany) 2.4
Lynne Terry (Cruden Bay) 6
Margaret Tough (Falkirk) 4.4
Eleanor Tunn (Reay) 10.5
Jane Turner (Craigielaw) +1.2
Sammy Vass (Tain) 3.2
Laura Walker (Muckhart) 1.5
Rachael Watton (Mortonhall) 1.4
Bobbi Waugh (Moorhall) 8.7
Rebecca Wilson (Grange) 2.1
Gail Wilson (Grange) 10.4
Carol Wilson (Murcar Links) 2.3
Susan Wood (Drumpellier) 1.6
Tiffiny Wood (Glenbervie 13.1
Clara Young (North Berwick 7.7
+Information from the SLGA website.

Labels: ,