Saturday, December 08, 2007


Team Asia continued to cruise on a victory path at the 2007 Lexus Cup women's professional match-play team tournament at Perth, Western Australia, as it increased its lead to seven points (9 1/2-2 1/2) after Saturday's four-ball matches.
Annika Sorenstam's Team International, trailing 6-0 after the first-day foursomes, posted its first points of the week with wins by partners Angela Park (USA) and Nikki Campbell (AUS), as well as Cristie Kerr (USA) and Nicole Castrale (USA).
Team Asia’s Candie Kung (TWN) and Ayako Uehara (JAP) and Team International's Stacy Prammanasudh (USA) and Morgan Pressel (USA) produced the only halved match in today's six four-ball matches at The Vines Resort and Country Club.
Sunday's single matches will prove to be a bit different than in the years past, as only 11 matches will be contested due to injuries. Team International's Suzann Pettersen (NOR) withdrew Saturday after aggravating a previous back injury.
Due to her withdrawal from the competition, Team Asia Captain Se Ri Pak (KOR) and International Team skipper Sorenstam (SWE) agreed to halve what would have been one of the 12 single matches.
Pak, who has been suffering shoulder pain throughout the weekend, will also not compete, and Sorenstam will instead play Kung in the opening match.
With 11 points up for grabs during Sunday's singles matches, the 2007 Lexus Cup is still for the taking but the odds are overwhelmingly in favour of the Asians. To retain the Lexus Cup, Team Asia needs to win 2½ points in tomorrow's singles action, while Team International would need to win 10 of the 11 matches.

Day 1 (foursomes) - Team Asia 6, Team International 0.
Day 2 (better-ball) - Team Asia 3 1/2, Team International 2 1/2
Scoreline after two days: Team Asia 9 1/2, Team International 2 1/2.

Asian names first
J Jang & S Ahn lost to A Park & N Campbell 3 and 2.
J Lee & S H Lee bt N Gulbis & S Pettersen 2 holes.
S Lee & M Lee lost to C Kerr & N Castrale 3 and 2.
C Kung & A Vehara halved with S Pramanasudh & M Pressel.
A Hung & J Shin bt M Hjorth & B Lincicombe 2 and 1.
I Kim & S Pak bt A Sorenstam & C Matthew 1 hole.