Monday, September 03, 2007

Aberdeen Grammar's winning line-up: Donald Macandrew, Mhairi Johnstone and Nick Macandrew. To enlarge this Cal Carson Golf Agency image (c), click on it.


Aberdeen Grammar School completed a notable golfing double when they won the Paul Lawrie Schools Team Challenge Scratch Trophy at Peterculter Golf Club today.
In a cold, blustery wind, 17-year-old Mhairi Johnstone and the Macandrew brothers, Donald (17) and Nick (16) won with a very gross team score of 226. Donald had a two-over-par 73 against the CSS of 72, Mhairi a 76 and Nick a 77.
In June, Grammar won the Aberdeen schools championship final at Hazlehead. This was the first time, in the fifth year of the competition, that they had won the Paul Lawrie Team Challenge Scratch Trophy.
They had eight shots to spare at the finish from Westhill Academy’s Matthew Smith (77), Steven Smith (78) and Fraser Clarke (79).
Robert Gordon’s College were third on 237 with a 71 from Jack Scott, an 81 from Ali MacDonald and an 85 from Steven Smith.
Scott’s 71 was the lowest round of the day.
Ellon Academy, who had been bidding to complete a hat-trick, finished on 251.
The A T Personnel Schools Team Challenge Handicap Trophy was won by Bridge of Don Academy’s Luke Sandison, Murray Kinnaird (Murray and Luke are pictured above) and Matthew Mitchell. They had a net total of 224 which was not as low as Aberdeen Grammar School’s net total of 214 but the rules of the competition debar a school from figuring in both the scratch and handicap prize lists.
Title-holders Dyce Academy (Cameron Murray, Cameron Smith and Scott Keith) finished second with a net total of 225. Monifieth High (Andrew Cowieson, Michael McNally and Rebecca Wilson) finished third on 226.

226 Aberdeen Grammar School (Donald Macandrew 73, Mhairi Johnstone 76, Nick Macandrew 77).
234 Westhill Academy (Matthew Smith 77, Steven Smith 78, Fraser Clarke 79).
237 Robert Gordon’s College (Jack Scott 71, Ali MacDonald 81, Steven Smith 85).
238 Banchory Academy.
240 Monifieth High.
250 Peterhead Academy.
251 Ellon Academy.
255 Meldrum Academy, Oldmachar Academy.
258 Grove Academy.
265 Aboyne Academy, Kemnay academy.
267 The Gordon Schools, Hazlehead Academy..
268 Alford Academy, Cults Academy, Mintlaw Academy.
269 Dyce Academy.
281 Bridge of Don Academy, Kincorth Academy.
326 Torry Academy.
224 Bridge of Don Academy: Luke Sandison (14) 70, Murray Kinnaird (17) 74, Matthew Mitchell (26) 80.
225 Dyce Academy: Cameron Murray (17) 71, Cameron Smith (14) 75, Scott Keith (13) 79.
226 Monifieth High: Andrew Cowieson (5) 71, Michael McNally (4) 75, Rebecca Wilson (5) 80.
227 Banchory Academy.
229 Meldrum Academy.
230 The Gordon Schools.
233 Kemnay Academy, Cults Academy.
234 Oldmachar Academy.
235 Peterhead Academy.

Labels: ,