Friday, May 12, 2017



French conspicuous by their absence at this  year's St Rule Trophy tournament
France dominated last year's St Rule Trophy 54 hole open tournament at St Andrews, filling the first two places individually, notably with the youngest ever winner, 15-year-old Pauline Roussin-Blanchard, and winning the team title as well.
This year's event (June 3 and 4) has only one French entry - Manon Molle who is No 439 in the women's world amateur rankings.
So why the big change this year?
St Rule Club secretary Neil Doctor believes that this year's St Rule Trophy dates clash with a big domestic tournament in France which means all the French stars will be staying at home to play in that.

The main overseas contingent will be the six-strong touring Australian party
There is no shortage of stars from the British and Irish women's ranks with the in-form Gemma Clews (Delamere Forest) leading the challenge from south of the Border, backed up by players of the calibre of Hollie Muse (West Lancashire), Rochelle Morris (Woodsome Hall) and India Clyburn (Woodhall Spa).

Leading Scots in the field include Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm), Shannon McWilliam (Aboyne) and Chloe Goadby (St Regulus Ladies).
Briggs tied for third place last year with Lauren Whyte (St Regulus Ladies) who has not entered this year, presumably due to USA college commitments. Same must apply to Jess Meek (Carnoustie Ladies) who tied for fifth place last year with Gemma Batty (Moffat) but is not an entrant this year.

First two rounds are played over the St Andrews New Course on Sunday with a fresh draw, leaders out last, for the third and final round on the Old Course on the Sunday.