KirkwoodGolf: PRESS RELEASE: Teams announced ahead of Interprovincial matches

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

PRESS RELEASE: Teams announced ahead of Interprovincial matches



Women’s and Girls’ Interprovincial Matches

Slieve Russell Golf Club

5-7 July 2016


Teams announced ahead of Interprovincial matches

14 June 2016


Photo Caption: 2015 Ladies’ Champions Ulster (Front L:R): Niamh Ward, Louise Coffey, Captain Janet Wilson, Victoria Craig, Lisa Maguire. (Back L:R): Tara Gribben and Chloe Weir


Leinster, Ulster, Munster and Connacht have announced their teams ahead of the interprovincial matches next month. The defending ladies’ champions Ulster, will have the trophy in sight once again but will face stiff competition from Munster, Connacht and Ulster. The current champions have named a strong side again this year with 2016 Ulster ladies’ champion Lisa Maguire and international Paula Grant on Janet Wilson’s team. However Munster, Connacht and Leinster will be determined to make their mark at Slieve Russell.


Meanwhile Munster will be hoping to lift the girls’ trophy again this year. 2015 girls’ international Lisa O’Shea will lead the Munster girls’ charge alongside talented teammates Clodagh Jones (Roscrea), Sara Byrne (Douglas) and Aine Donegan (Woodstock), to name but a few. Connacht, Leinster and Ulster all show as strong on paper and it will be a battle for whatever team emerges on top. 


The interprovincial matches will take place at Slieve Russell Golf Club, home club to Leona and Lisa Maguire. Lisa was a member of the victorious Ulster team last year and will be representing her province once again on home soil in a few weeks’ time.


Each team shall consist of seven players and a non-playing captain. The interprovincial matches have been running for over half a century and are an essential element in the development of talented and elite golfers. Each province shall play each other by matchplay which will consist of three foursomes matches and five singles matches.


Forming part of a magnificent 300 acre estate, including 50 acres of lakes, the highly acclaimed 18-hole championship course at Slieve Russell is wrapped around the lakes and the drumlins of the County Cavan landscape.


Women’s Interprovincial Teams

Anne Brett (Naas)
Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)
Clodagh Hopkins (Woodbrook)
Maureen Keane (Westport)
Maeve Kelly (Castledargan)
Fiona Moclair (Ballinasloe)
Noreen Moloney (Oughterard)
Captain: Marie Carr (Athenry)


Ciara Casey (Hermitage)
Ariana Coyle -Diaz (Elm Park)
Mary Doyle (The Heath)
Meadhbh Doyle (Portarlington)
Aedin Murphy (Carlow)
Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth)
Rachel Taylor (Laytown & Bettystown)
Captain: Ailish McCartan (Greenore)


Aoife Lowry (Tipperary)
Chloe Ryan (Castletroy)
Emma O'Driscoll (Ballybunion)
Katie Aherne (Waterford Castle)
Paula Walsh (Doneraile)
Sarah Cunningham (Ennis)
Tara Whelan (East Clare)
Captain: Tracy Eakin (Dooks)


Victoria Craig (Royal Belfast)
Paula Grant (Lisburn)
Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint)
Hannah Henderson (Ballyclare)
Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell)
Niamh Ward (Lurgan)
Chloe Weir (Shandon Park)
Captain: Janet Wilson (Royal Belfast)


Girls’ Interprovincial Teams

Ailbhe Bourke (Enniscrone)
Niamh Cronin (Co. Sligo)
Lorna Mullally (Tuam)
Chloe O'Connor (Roscommon)
Róisín O'Brien (Roscommon)
Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo)
Róisín Timothy (Roscommon)
Captain: Maureen Leonard-Dodd (Enniscrone)


Georgia Carr (Milltown)
Elisa Corcoran (Grange)
Anna Foster (Elm Park)
Eleanor Metcalfe (Laytown & Bettystown)
Ellen O'Gorman (Milltown)
Clodagh Walsh (Castlewarden)
Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)
Captain: Suzie Hayes (Hermitage)


Aideen Walsh
Aine Donegan (Woodstock)
Ciara Leonard (Muskerry)
Clodagh Jones (Roscrea)
Grace McGrath (East Cork)
Lisa O'Shea (Shannon)
Sara Byrne (Dougals)
Captain: Jennifer Hickey (Mallow)

Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)
Maeve Cummins (Lurgan)
Kate Dwyer (Rossmore)
Emma Forbes (Newtownstewart)
Anna Morwood (Clandeboye)
Olivia McClurg (Belvoir Park)
Becky McNeice (Malone)
Captain: Kathleen Calvert (RCDL)

Kind regards,

Sarah Crowe | Public Relations

Irish Ladies Golf Union

103-105 Q House | 76 Furze Road

Sandyford Industrial Estate | Dublin 18 | Ireland

T +353 (0)1 2934833 | F +353 (0)1 2934832 | E