Sunday, May 22, 2016

 Paula Grant's late birdies win her Munross 

Trophy by one stroke from Eilidh Briggs

Former Irish champion Paula Grant (Lisburn) made the long trip from Co Antrim in Northern Ireland to the east coast of Scotland a worthwhile one when she won the Munross Trophy 36-hole women's open tournament at the Montrose Links today.
Paul shot rounds of 70 and 71 for a five-under-par total of 141.
She won by one stroke from Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm) who scored 70 and 71.
The tournament was won and lost over the last few holes. Grant (pictured) birdied the 14th, 16th and 17th in her second round while Briggs birdied the 15th and 18th but bogeys at the 14th and 16th meant the difference between being first or second.
But still another good performance overall by Eilidh who is coming back to her best after spending most of last season on the injured list.
Hannah Scott (Broomieknowe) was third on 146 (75-71) while Hazlehead teenager Jasmine Mackintosh did well to finish fourth with rounds of 73 and 74 for 147.
Ailsa Summers (Carnoustie) was the only player to break 70. She had a 68 in her afternoon round, following an 81 in the morning. She finished tied fifth on 149 with Gillian Paton (Royal Montrose) who shared the first-round lead on 70 with Grant and Briggs but dropped away with a second-round 79.
Summers' figures inclyuded an eagle at the 17th and birdies at the second, seventh, eighth, ninth and 15th in halves of 33 and 35.
Ailsa won the fourth scratch prize with a better last round than Gillian Paton.

135 Carys Irvine (Craigielaw) (12).

141 Jasmine Mackintosh (Hazlehead) (3)

142 Megan Ashley (Strathmore) (8)

143 Anna McKay (Crail GS) (8).

Montrose Links
Par 146 (2x72). SSS 73. CSS 73 73
141 Paula Grant (Lisburn) 70 71
142 Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm) 70 72
146 Hannah Scott (Broomieknowe) 75 71
147 Jasmine Mackintosh (Hazlehead) 73 74
149 Ailsa Summers (Carnoustie Ladies) 81 68, Gillian Paton (Royal Montrose) 70 79.
150 Claire Robertson (Carnoustie Ladies) 75 75
151 Eilidh Watson (Muckhart) 78 73, Joanne Free (Gullane) 74 77
154 Carinne Taylor (Nairn) 79 75, Carmen Griffiths (Aboyne) 79 75, Megan Robb (Peterculter) 78 76
155 Margo Gardner (Linlithgow) 78 77, Emma Hale (Troon Ladies) 77 78
156 Kirsten K Scott (Strathaven) 74 82
157 Alison McBride (Harburn) 78 79

Full results are available here