KirkwoodGolf: Midlothian take team championship at Luffness New

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Midlothian take team championship at Luffness New

 Midlothian's team trophy winning line-up: left to right: Hannah Scott, Gabrielle MacDonald, Karen Marshall, Wendy Nicholson. Picture by Gillian Kirkwood.

Great Scott! Hannah wins East title with course-record 70

Hannah Scott
East of Scotland Champion
Hannah Scott (Broomieknowe ) (pictured right) won the East of Scotland championship at Luffness New Golf Club, Aberlady today with a round of 70, an astonishing five strokes inside the previous women's course record.
She won by two strokes from past Scottish champion Elaine Moffat
(St Regulus).
Susan Jackson (Ladybank) was third with a 73. 
The SSS and CSS were both 73.
Hannah also figured in the Midlothian side who won the team trophy with a total of 219. The other team members were Gabrielle MacDonald (Craigielaw), Karen Marshall (Baberton) and Wendy Nicholson (Broomieknowe). 
Fife were team runners up, four strokes behind Midlothian

Handicap prizewinners:
1 Karen Burns (Bathgate) (6) 68
2 Karen Ferguson (Liberton) (4) 71
3 Sue Penman (Gullane Ladies) (6) 73 [best inward half from six players with net 73] 

+Scroll down to the end of the following article to view all the scratch scores


East Lothian county captain
The 2015 East of Scotland Championship hosted by East Lothian was played at Luffness New Golf Club. The competition was well supported by all the Counties involved (Fife, Midlothian, East Lothian and Stirling and Clackmannanshire) with the result that many hopeful competitors were unfortunately balloted out. There were 48 competitors and everyone played in glorious sunshine with no wind, very unusual for a Links Course. The course was in splendid condition and ELLCGA are very grateful to Luffness New for hosting this tournament.

Congratulations to Hannah Scott in becoming the new East of Scotland champion with an excellent scratch score of 70 - a new Ladies course record at Luffness New, beating the previous record of 75, held by Keren Ward (East Lothian) in the 2013 ELLCGA Spring Meeting. Hannah helped the Midlothian team to win the County team cup with a score of 219.

Well done to everyone who took part and a big thank you to Liz McLelland, Elaine Dick and Gwen Stewart of East Lothian for all their hard work in organizing the event, and today on the desk, and a special thank you to our President Carole Macleod for acting as starter and presenting the prizes. ELLCGA would also like to offer a grateful thanks to the catering staff at Luffness New for their delicious afternoon teas which were enjoyed by many of the competitors .

Results: CSS 73
1 Hannah Scott, Broomieknowe (Midlothian)       70
2 Elaine Moffat, St Regulus (Fife)                               72 
3 Susan Jackson, Ladybank (Fife)                               73
1 Karen Burns, Bathgate (S&C) (6)                            68
2 Karen Ferguson, Liberton (Midlothian) (4)        71 
3 Susan Penman (GLGC) (East Lothian)(6)            73 (b.i.h.)

Midlothian                               219
Fife                                          223
Stirling and Clackmannan       242
East Lothian                             248

There were 12 twos:

East Lothian - Gilly Corstorphine, Anne Marshall, Alice Archibold, Kay Lannin, Sue Penman, Barbara Biggart, Joanne Free

Fife - Susan Jackson, Megan Brown

Midlothian- Hannah Scott, Gabrielle MacDonald

Stirling and Clackmannan - Karen Burns

Par 70 CSS 73

Hannah Scott  70
Elaine Moffat 72
S M Jackson 73
Karen Burns 74
Gabrielle MacDonald 74
Karen Ferguson 75
Karen Marshall 75
Louise Macgregor  78
Megan Brown 78
Margaret Tough 78
Mrs Susan Penman 79
Anne Hanson  79
Margo Gardner 79
Ms Andrea Walker 79
Mrs Kay Lannin 79
Miss Mary Lou Watkins 80
Mrs Mhairi Tufail 81
Miss Sarah Stichbury 81
Mrs Hazel Saunders 81
Ms Dorothy Ford  82
Miss Lauren Lee 83
Mrs Dulcie Barnes 83
Mrs Elinor Blair  84
Dr Barbara Biggart  84
Claire Capocci  85
Wendy Nicholson 85
Ms Lindsey Sabin 86
Anne Brownie  86
Ms Gail McKill 87
Miss Stacey Cameron 87
Lynn Cackett 87
Megan Linton 87
Mrs Alice Archbold  87
Mrs Dianne Brown 88
Miss Catherine S H Milne  89
Sarah Walker 89
Mhairi Hall 89
Mrs Gillian Corstorphine  90
Janette Murdie  90
Emma Wilson  90
Mrs Anne Marshall 90