Sunday, March 29, 2015

Stanford's McNealy wins The Goodwin for fourth college title of season, David Boote T6

By Brentley Romine
Maverick McNealy became the first US college men's golfer to record  four individual victories during the 2014-2015 season as the Stanford University sophomore captured "The Goodwin" individual title on Saturday over his home college course in California
McNealy closed with a 4-under 66 to finish at 13-under 197 along with Alabama-Birmingham junior Will Cannon, but edged Cannon by a shot in a scorecard play-off.
A strong contender for the Haskins Award before his victory at The Goodwin, McNealy hasn't finished worse than T-21 this season. His other victories came at the Southwestern Intercollegiate, Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational and The Prestige at PGA West.
Before Saturday, Cannon hadn't placed in the top 10 this season. He closed with a 69 and will be officially credited with a co-victory despite losing the scorecard play-off.

David Boote (Stanford), pictured, a junior from Epsom, finished the leading British/Irish player in joint sixth place in a field of 132 players. He had scores of 67, 69 and 67 for seven-under 203.
The Blazers (Alabama-Birmingham) were on the right side of a scorecard play-off as a team. UAB and SMU tied for first at 23-under 817, but the Blazers got the edge via the play-off to record their first win of the season. The Mustangs will be credited with a co-victory, as well.
"I couldn't be more proud of the boys," UAB head coach Alan Murray said. "Every really contributed this week so it was a big win for the program. It was an excellent field here, a lot of really good programs so I think it has given the team a glimpse of what is possible."
Stanford placed third as a team, six shots back. SMU's Bryson Dechambeau was third individually at 12 under after a final-round 65

Par 210 (3x70)
197 Maverick McNealy (Stanford) 67 64 66, Will Cannon (Alabama-Birmingham) 66 62 69.
198 Bryson Dechambeau (Southern Methodist) 67 66 65 
199 John Oda (UNLV) 64 64 71

203 David Boote (Stanford) 67 69 67 (T6)
211 Paul Dunne (Alabama-Birmingham) 73 71 67 
215 Josh Jamieson (Northwestern) 77 69 69
216 Seb Crookall-Nixon (San Francisco) 65 72 73 

817 Alabama-Birmingham (won tie-breaker), Southern Methodist.
823 Stanford
824 Texas Christian.
826 UNLV, Oregon.