Thursday, April 29, 2010

James Byrne finished jt 42nd in Pac-10 Championship

Banchory's James Byrne (Arizona State University) had a disappointing last round of seven-over-par 78 to drop to a final placing of joint 42nd in a quality field of 60 players for the Pac-10 Men's Championship over the 7,057yd, par-71 Karsten course at Tempe, Arizona.
Byrne's earlier rounds were 69, 72 and 71.
Eric Mina (California) won the individual honours with rounds of 65, 68, 67 and 68 for a 16-under-par total of 268.
Incidentally, Paul Casey won this title in 1999 with 15-under-par 265 and again in 2000 with 23-under-par 265.
Byrne's Arizona State team-mate Jesper Kennegard finished runner-up, beaten by one shot, with scores of 63, 66, 67 and 73.
Richard Lee (Washington) lost it with a closing round of 75 after returning 66 in each of his first three rounds
Washington are Pac-10 champions for the second year in a row. They retained the title by three shots from Stanford. Totals:
1383 Washington. 1386 Stanford. 1396 Southern California. 1401 Arizona State. 1407 Oregon State. 1409 Oregon, California. 1414 UCLA. 1421 Arizona. 1438 Washington State.