Friday, April 02, 2010


07 - 09 APRIL 2010

Leinster will have their sights on a seventh consecutive Interprovincial title when play commences at The Island Golf Club, Dublin, 7 - 9 April 2010. The challenging links course which measures 6,295 yards, with a par of 74, will provide a tough test for competitors in what looks likely to be the most tightly contested series of matches in recent years now that the U18 players are available for selection.

The first Inter Provincial Matches took place in 1964, with Leinster winning the inaugural series of matches and going on to dominate the Championship, winning the trophy on 31 occasions in addition to sharing the title in with Ulster in 1967. Munster have claimed 7 victories over the years with their most recent wins coming in 2002 and 2003 to break the Leinster hold on the trophy from 1994 to 2009.

Leinster field a formidable team which will be lead by Internationals Aedin Murphy (Carlow) and Mary Dowling (New Ross), former internationals Karen Delaney (Carlow), Maria Dunne (Skerries) and Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth) add strength to the team while Louise Mernagh (Woodenbridge), Ciara Butler (Newlands) and Rachel Cassidy (The Island) complete the team.

A young Munster side, who caused an upset last year by defeating Leinster on day, look likely to be the strongest challengers for this year’s title. The southern side includes current internationals Sarah Cunningham and Gillian O’Leary, as well as girls international Laura McCarthy (Muskerry). Castletroy’s Cleo Ryan is the only new cap in the Munster side, while Sarah Crowe (Tipperary), Aoife Lowry (Tipperary), Karen O’Neill (Douglas) and Linda Toomey (Limerick) add experience to the side.

Ulster who last won the trophy in 1989, will also look to claim the trophy as the northern side boasts the talents GB &I team member for the Vagliano Trophy Danielle McVeigh (Royal Co. Down), in addition to current internationals Charlene Reid (Royal Portrush) and Victoria Bradshaw (Bangor).

Niamh Kitching (Limerick) will once again lead Connacht into battle with girls’ International Sarah Helly (Enniscrone) and former Irish Girls’ Champion Kate Gallagher (Claremorris) in their ranks as they go in search of their first victory in the tournament.

The current format of the matches sees each of the 4 teams of 8 players compete over 3 days in the round robin series of matches. Each match is contested between 3 foursomes in the morning and 6 singles in the afternoon.

Wednesday 7th April
1st tee: 08:30 & 13:30 Leinster –v- Ulster
10th tee : 08:35 & 13:35 Connacht –v- Munster
Thursday 8th April
1st tee: 08:30 & 13:30 Munster –v- Ulster
10th tee 08:35 & 13:35 Connacht –v- Leinster
Friday 9th April
1st tee 08:30 & 13:30 Ulster –v- Connacht
10th tee 08:35 & 13:35 Leinster –v- Munster

Leinster Captain: Denise McCarthy (Woodenbridge), Manager: Lucy Tormey (Mullingar)
Ciara Butler (Newlands), Rachel Cassidy (The Island), Karen Delaney (Carlow), Mary Dowling (New Ross), Maria Dunne (Skerries), Louise Mernagh (Woodenbridge), Aedin Murphy (Carlow), Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth)

Ulster Captain: Sinead Smyth (Royal Portrush ), Manager: Dr Christine Crockett (Royal County Down Ladies)
Victoria Bradshaw (Bangor), Louise Coffey (Malone), Nichola Currie (Clandeboye), Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint), Bronagh Lunney (Slieve Russell), Gemma Mc Clenaghan (Greencastle), Danielle McVeigh (Royal County Down Ladies), Charlene Reid (Royal Portrush)

Connacht Captain: Rita Grealish (Galway), Manager: Vonnie Noonan (Co. Longford)
Shauna Brady (Co.Sligo) , Doireann Carney (Galway), Ailbhe Farrell (Roscommon), Kate Gallagher (Claremorris), Sarah Helly (Enniscrone), Niamh Kitching (Limerick), Anne McCormack (Roscommon), Holly Robinson (Co. Sligo)

Munster Captain: Valerie Hassett (Ennis), Manager: Valerie Shannon (Lahinch)
Sarah Crowe (Tipperary), Sarah Cunningham (Ennis), Aoife Lowry (Tipperary), Laura McCarthy (Muskerry), Gillian O'Leary (Cork), Karen O'Neill (Douglas), Chloe Ryan (Castletroy), Linda Toomey (Limerick)