Thursday, June 15, 2006



Two girls from Fife, Krystle Caithness and Louise Kennedy, gave it their best shot under pressure to score 19th hole victories in the first round of the Ladies British open amateur championship at Royal County Down Golf Club at Newcastle, Northern Ireland yesterday (Thu).
They were the only Scots to make it through to the last 32.
Impressive St Rule Trophy winner Krystle Caithness scored a crucial win over Helen Holm Scottish women's open stroke-play champion Melissa Reid, a rival for a place in the Curtis Cup team to be announced at the end of the week.
St Regulus member Krystle from Cellardyke beat the talented English teenager at the 19th  in a tie watched closely by the Great Britain & Ireland team selectors.
St Regulus member Krystle went two up with a birdie at the long 12th but the tie suddenly swung the way of Melissa, the reigning English girls champion from Chevin, Derby, after that.
Melissa won the 14th, 15th and 16th to go one up with two to play but Krystle hit back by squaring the tie at the 18th . The Fifer did not have to putt on the first extra hole. Miss Reid conceded the hole and the match to the Scot after getting into trouble.
Louise, from Pitreavie, was three down after seven holes to French-Canadian Mary-Ann Lapointe. Then Miss Kenney won the 12th with a par and the 13th and 14th with birdies to go one up. She lost the 17th  to be pulled back to all square and after the 18th was halved, Louise showed her class.
She got home at the 496yd par-5 first hole with a drive and a seven-wood and holed the 6ft putt for a knock-out eagle 3 to her opponent's birdie 4.
Gemma Webster (Hilton Park) lost by 2 and 1 to former Irish champion Martina Gillen (Beaverstown) after holding her to all square at the turn.
Roseanne Niven (Crieff) went down by 2 and 1 to Maria Hernandez, a Spanish player who is ranked among the top 30 on the American college circuit. Roseanne was two down at the turn.
Emily Ogilvy (Auchterarder), one down at the turn, lost by 3 and 2 to Australian Emma Bennett.
Heather MacRae, the British open stroke-play champion from Dunblane, saw her Curtis Cup selection hopes diminish when she lost by 4 and 3 to Australian Kate Combes. Heather was six down at the turn.
South African Stacy Bregman, 19, from Johannesburg shocked the leading qualifier, Azahara Munoz from Spain. Stacy, who had to survive a play-off to become the 64th qualifier - having taken 16 more shots than her opponent for the 36 holes of stroke play -  won by 2 and 1.
Stacy had six birdies and only two bogeys and said she was not put off in the slightest by Azahara's outstanding CV.
"She's only human and I knew I could beat her if I played well," said Miss Bergman.



First quarter
S Bregman (SA) bt A Munoz (Spa) 2 and 1.
M Jorgensen (Den) bt C Ellis (Minchinhampton) 3 and 2.
S Walker (Kenwick Park) bt S Evans (Vale of Llangollen) 4 and 3.
D-C Schreefel (Netherlands) bt K Matharu (Cookridge Hall) 2 and 1.
M Gillen (Beaverstown) bt G Webster (Hilton Park) 2 and 1.
M Morrin (The Curragh) bt D Anderson (Mex) 4 and 3.
M Hernandez (Spa) bt R Niven (Crieff) 2 and 1.
B Loucks (Wrexham) bt L Krog (Nor) 2 holes.

Second quarter
M-A Leblanc (Can) bt M Backstedt (Swe) 4 and 3.
K Caithness (St Regulus) bt M Reid (Chevin) at 19th.
M Eikenaar (Net) bt C Boeljon (Net) at 19th.
A Nordqvist (Swe) bt S Doering (Ger) 6 and 4.
F Parker (Gut Waldhof) bt K Meixner (Can) 8 and 7.
J Schaeffer (Fra) bt R Jennings (Izaak Walton) 4 and 3.
J Klatten (Fra) bt D Smith (Co Louth) 2 holes.
S Gal (Ger) bt L Ball (Matfen Hall) 3 and 1.

Third quarter
B Mozo (Spa) bt M Leblanc (Can) 6 and 5.
T Hoffmeister (Ger) bt D McVeigh (Royal Co Down) 4 and 3.
P Bengtsson (Swe) bt E Geury (Bel) 4 and 3.
M Van der Graaff (Net) bt C Lorentzen (Den) 2 and 1.
L Gendronneau (Fra) bt F Johnson (Harborne) at 20th.
L Matthews (Can) bt C Ciganda (Spa) 1 hole.
J Fleming (Aus) bt K Smith (Waterlooville) 1 hole.
K Schallenberg (Ger) bt K Delaney (Carlow) 6 and 4.

Fourth quarter
T Mangan (Ennis) bt C Westrup (Sweden) 1 hole.
L Kenney (Pitreavie) bt M-A Lapointe (Can) at 19th.
E Bennett (Aus) bt E Ogilvy (Auchterarder) 3 and 2.
T Delaney (Carlow) bt S Andersson (Swe) 3 and 2.
M Macias (Spa) bt A-L Caudal (Fra) 4 and 2.
K Combes (Aus) bt H MacRae (Dunblane New) 4 and 3.
N Edwards (Ganton) bt S Keane (The Curragh) 5 and 4.
C Coughlan (Cork) bt M Bazin de Jessey (Fra) 5 and 4.