KirkwoodGolf: Fiona Edmond returns to international action

Wednesday, August 02, 2017

Fiona Edmond returns to international action

Suffolk's Fiona Edmond will return to international action after an absence of 25 years when she represents England in the European women's team championship.

The English senior women's champion will be joined in the team by English senior stroke play champion Jackie Foster, Caroline Berry, Julie Brown, Aileen Greenfield and Lulu Housman.

The championship will be played from 5-9 September in Slovakia. England's recent record in this event is excellent, winning the gold medal in 2014, silver in 2015 and bronze last year.

The players:

Caroline Berry (Bromborough, Cheshire) is a past English senior champion and reached the semi-finals of this year's event, having been top qualifier. She was 16th in the stroke play championship.

Julie Brown (Trentham, Staffordshire) won the 2015 British senior championship and was runner-up last year. She won the English senior title in 2014 and has represented England every year since then.

Fiona Edmond (Ipswich, Suffolk) was an England and GB&I international before illness, children and work put a stop to her golf. She dusted off her clubs about three years ago and won the English senior title at her first attempt in May. (Image copyright Leaderboard Photography).

Jackie Foster (Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire) has won back-to-back English senior stroke play titles. She was a quarter finalist in the senior amateur championship.

Aileen Greenfield (Pyecombe, Sussex) is playing only her second full season of senior golf and has been runner-up three times, most recently in the senior amateur championship in May.

Lulu Housman (Wyke Green, Middlesex) won the English senior stroke play title in 2015 and went on to join Brown in the team which won European gold. She was a semi-finalist in this year's senior amateur and tied 11th in the strokeplay.

The team is composed of the top four players from the senior order of merit and two selectors' picks. The automatic places were taken by Brown, Greenfield, Foster and Housman.