KirkwoodGolf: Mairead Martin shows her Magic at Mallow to win the Irish Girls' Closed Championship

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Mairead Martin shows her Magic at Mallow to win the Irish Girls' Closed Championship

Mairead Martin (Kanturk) ILGU President Vonnie Noonan and supporters from Pat Cashman Photography

After 5 days of stunning golf at Mallow Golf Club, Mairead Martin (Kanturk) is the 2017 Irish Girls' Close Champion. Having qualified in 3rd position after 36 holes of stroke play on Wednesday, Martin cruised to the final overseeing her opponents by 6&5, 6&5, 4&3 and 5&4. The final saw her face Rosses Point girl Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo), who had knocked out leading qualifier and girls' International Rachel Thompson (Cork) in this morning's semi-finals. After confidently striking her first tee shot down their middle of the fairway, Mairead went 1 up through1 and didn't ease up from there. Four up at the turn, birdies at the 10th and 11th saw Martin go 6 up with 7 holes to play. The match was finished in style with an eagle from Mairead at the 444-yard par 5 12th to close out the game 7&6.
"I'm delighted to win, my short game was on form this week, I pitched in for eagle on the 12th this afternoon to win the match which was a good way to finish. I was at home in my own bed all week too which was also nice and to have so much support from the club was class! I had my sister on the bag too this week which was entertaining! She doesn't play much golf but I hope she might take it up after this week!"
In the final of the Pat Fletcher Trophy, Sara Byrne (Douglas) and Leah Temple Lang (Elm Park) faced each other after their wins over Nicole McGavisk (Donabate) and Jan Browne (Kilkenny). Sara, who represented Ireland at the Girls' European Team Championships in Finland last week, got off to a good start, winning the 1st hole. She was ahead for much of the front 9 until a birdie 3 on the 9th from Temple Lang levelled the match. Leah then took advantage and won the 12th to go ahead for the first time. Her lead was short lived and Sara levelled the match once again at the 13th. After halving the 14th in birdies Byrne followed up with another birdie on the 15th but again Temple Lang brought it back to all square after the 16th. Seventeen and eighteen were halved so extra holes were needed. Both found the green on the first extra hole but a three putt from Byrne meant a par would be good enough for Temple Lang to win the Pat Fletcher Trophy 2017.
Next year the Irish Girls' Close Championship goes North to Clandeboye Golf Club from the 18 – 21 July 2018.
Maeve Rooney lost to Mairead Martin 7&6
Semi Finals – Saturday 22 July
Rachel Thompson lost to Maeve Rooney 3&1
Valerie Clancy lost to Mairead Martin 5&4
Quarter Finals – Friday 21 July
Rachel Thompson beat Georgia Carr 2&1
Maeve Rooney beat Beth Coulter 19th
Valerie Clancy beat Canice Screene 1 hole
Mairead Martin beat Nicole Joyce Moreno 4&3
Last 16 – Friday 21 July
Rachel Thompson beat Emma Forbes 19th
Georgia Carr beat Anna Foster 5&4
Kate Lanigan lost to Maeve Rooney 19th
Lauren Walsh lost to Beth Coulter 1 hole
Valerie Clancy beat Kate Dwyer 1 hole
Canice Screene beat Ellen O'Gorman 7&6
Mairead Martin beat Ada Bowler 6&5
Maeve Cummins lost to Nicole Joyce Moreno 1 hole
Pat Fletcher Plate
Sara Byrne lost to Leah Temple Lang 19th
Semi Final – Saturday 22 July
Nicole McGavisk lost to Sara Byrne 3&2
Leah Temple Lang beat Jan Browne 3&1
Quarter Finals – Friday 21 July
Nicole McGavisk beats Niamh O'Dwyer 2&1
Chloe O'Connor lost to Sara Byrne 6&5
Leah Temple Lang beat Katie O'Hart 19th
Jan Browne beat Anna McVicker 1 hole
Round 1 – Friday 21 July
Olivia McClurg lost to Nicole McGavisk 3&1
Katie Keenan lost to Niamh O'Dwyer 2&1
Emily Walsh lost to Chloe O'Connor 4&2
Fiona Behan lost to Sara Byrne 19th
Shannon Hegarty lost to Leah Temple Lang 20th
Katie O'Hart beat Anna Dawson 3&1
Kaelin O'Keeffe lost to Jan Browne 2&1
Tegan Gordon lost to Anna McVicker 7&6
Round 1 – Thursday 20 July
Rachel Thompson (Cork) beat Olivia McClurg (Belvoir Park) 7&5
Emma Forbes (Royal Portrush) beat Nicole McGavisk (Donabate) 2 holes
Georgia Carr (Milltown) beat Katie Keenan (Kilkenny) 2&1
Anna Foster (Elm Park) beat Niamh O'Dwyer (Lahinch) 4&3
Kate Lanigan (Hermitage) beat Emily Walsh (Limerick) 4&3
Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo) beat Chloe O'Connor (Roscommon) 3&2
Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden) beat Fiona Behan (Killeen) 1 hole
Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle) beat Sara Byrne (Douglas) 5&4
Valerie Clancy (Killarney) beat Shannon Hegarty (Ennis) 3&1
Kate Dwyer (Rossmore) beat Leah Temple Lang (Elm Park) 5&4
Katie O'Hart (Arklow) lost to Canice Screen (Hermitage) 1 hole
Ellen O'Gorman (Milltown) beat Anna Dawson (Tramore) 1 hole
Mairead Martin (Kanturk) beat Kaelin O'Keeffe (Tralee) 6&5
Ada Bowler (Lucan) beat Jan Browne (Kilkenny) 2&1
Maeve Cummins (Lurgan) beat Tegan Gordon (Laytown & Bettystown) 8&7
Nicole Joyce Moreno (Spain) beat Anna McVicker (Belvoir Park) 3&2