KirkwoodGolf: 2018 Curtis Cup Captain is named

Monday, February 27, 2017

2018 Curtis Cup Captain is named

Virginia Derby Grimes will captain 2018 USA Curtis cup team.
Preparations for the 2018 Curtis Cup are underway with Great Britain and Ireland’s rivals announcing their captain.

GB&I will look to retain the trophy after beating the United states 111/2-81/2 at Dun Laoghaire Golf Club in June last year.
The 40th Curtis Cup Match, a between top female amateur golfers from the GB&I and United States, will be contested June 8-10, 2018 at Quaker Ridge Golf Club in Scarsdale, New York State/
Determined to regain the Curtis Cup on home soil, the USGA have confirmed that 1998 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur champion Virginia Derby Grimes has been named captain of the 2018 USA team.

Virginia Derby Grimes -- A member of the victorious 1998, 2000 and 2006 USA Curtis Cup Teams, Derby Grimes owns a 4-0-1 record in foursomes, which is tied for the second-best record in Match history. She is one of 10 women on either side to go undefeated while playing in at least four foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.
Derby Grimes won the 1998 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur with a 4-and-3 victory over Robin Weiss at Champions Golf Club in Houston, Texas, and was runner-up to Corey Weworski in the 2004 championship. She was a member of Alabama’s winning team in the 1997 USGA Women’s State Team Championship and earned medalist honors in the 1995 and 1997 U.S. Women’s Amateur Championships.
“To captain the 2018 Curtis Cup Team and represent the United States and the USGA is both an honor and a privilege,” said Derby Grimes.
“Having the opportunity to play on three winning Curtis Cup Teams remains one of the most gratifying accomplishments of my career. My captains – Barbara McIntire in 1998, Jane Booth in 2000 and Carol Semple Thompson in 2006 – all made lasting impressions on me, and I hope I am able to continue that tradition by sharing my perspective and passion for this game that continues to teach me so much.”
The 2018 Curtis Cup
The 2018 Curtis Cup will be the second USGA championship conducted at Quaker Ridge, which hosted the 1997 Walker Cup Match, won by the USA. Founded in 1915, Quaker Ridge originally featured a nine-hole course designed by John Duncan Dunn. In 1916, A.W.
Tillinghast was commissioned to redesign seven holes and create 11 new holes. The course opened in its current configuration in 1918, and Robert Trent Jones (1965), Rees Jones (1993) and Gil Hanse (2009-12) have overseen modifications.