KirkwoodGolf: 102nd Scottish women's amateur championship

Thursday, June 02, 2016

102nd Scottish women's amateur championship

Defending champion Clara Young goes out 

at 19th to Tara Mactaggart

Top seed Jess Meek from Carnoustie swept through to the quarter-finals of the 102nd Scottish women's amateur championship at West Kilbride with a 5 and 3 win over the experienced Karen Marshall (Baberton).

The former St Rule Trophy winner and past Scottish Under-21 girls champion built up a big lead in the early stages and there was no way back for Marshall.
In the round of the last eight, Meek, pictured left, will play former champion Gabrielle Macdonald (Craigielaw) who beat Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm) by 4 and 3 after being four up on the ninth tee.
Macdonald was national champion two years ago at Prestwick, where she beat Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) in the final.

No 2 seed Jaffrey had a fight on her hands in the second tie against Ailsa Summers (Carnoustie Ladies), pictured right. The Troon Ladies player was one up after eight but Summers turned the tables over the next few holes and was 1 up after 12.
Summers was on a roll and she was three up after 14 holes before knocking out the No 2 seed by 2 and 1.
Clara Young (North Berwick), the defending champion, bowed out at the 19th against Stirling student Tara Mactaggart (Minto). Tara, pictured below, was one up through eight but the tie was all square through 14 and 18 holes.
Gillian Paton (Royal Montrose) was six up after eight holes against Jennifer Allan (Glenbervie) but the latter won a string of holes and Paton's lead was slashed to only two holes on the 13th tee.
Gillian, last year's Angus champion and this year's county beaten finalist, eventually beat Allan by 3 and 2. 
Lanarkshire champion Susan Wood (Drumpellier) won by one hole against Rachel Walker (Dumfries and County) who lost to Clara Young in last year's "Scottish" final at Monifieth.

Hannah McCook (Grantown on Spey) won by two holes against Kemnay's Aberdeenshire county team player, Rachel Polson who was three down after eight holes.

Hannah, pictured right, will now play Joanne Free (Gullane) who beat Kate McIntosh (Broomieknowe) at the 19th after being one down through eight and then 14 holes. Jaonne squared the match after 16.
In the morning play, three of the top seven seeds fell at the first match-play hurdle on Day 3
No 3 seed Chloe Goadby (St Regulus) was beaten 4 and 3 by Kate McIntosh (Broomieknowe).
No 5 seed Lauren Whyte (St Regulus) lost by 3 and 2 to Susan Wood (Drumpellier).
No 7 seed Rachael Taylor (Germany) lost by one hole to Gillian Paton (Royal Montrose). 
Top seed Jess Meek (Carnoustie) had a tougher game than No 2 seed Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies)
Meek had to go to the 17th green to get the better of  the 32nd qualifier Louise Fraser (Kingsknowe) but Jaffrey won by 6 and 5 against the 31st qualfier Lorna Ronnie (Kilmarnock Barassie).

First quarter
J Meek (Carnoustie Ladies) bt L Fraser (Kingsknowe) 2 and 1.
K Marshall (Baberton) bt K Brodie (Strathmore) 2 holes.
E Briggs (Kilmacolm) bt J Saxton (Muckhart) 3 and 2.
G Macdonald (Craigielaw) bt A McBride (Harburn) 1 hole.
Second quarter
S Wood (Drumpellier) bt L Whyte (St Regulus) 3 and 2.
R Walker (Dumfries and Co) bt L Duncan (West Kilbride) at 20th
C Young (North Berwick) bt E Watson (Muckhart) 3 and 2.
T Mactaggart (Minto) bt S Leslie (Kemnay) 1 hole.
Third quarter
K McIntosh (Broomieknowe) bt C Goadby (St Regulus) 4 and 3.
J Free (Gullane) bt K Beveridge (Aboyne) 1 hole.
R Polson (Kemnay) bt E Moffat (St Regulus) 5 and 4.
H McCook (Grantown on Spey) bt J Mackintosh (Hazlehead) 2 holes.
Fourth quarter
G Paton (Royal Montrose) bt R Taylor (Germany) 1 hole.
J Allan (Glenbervie) bt N Robertson (Stirling) 2 and 1.
A Summers (Carnoustie Ladies) bt E Hale (Troon Ladies) 4 and 3
C Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) bt L Ronnie (Kilmarnock  Barassie) 6 and 5. 
J Meek bt K Marshall 5 and 3
G Macdonald  bt E Briggs 4 and 3
S Wood bt R Walker 1 hole.
T Mactaggart bt C Young at 19th.

J Free bt K McIntosh at 19th
H McCook bt R Polson 2 holes
G Paton bt J Allan 3 and 2.
A Summers bt C Jaffrey 2 and 1

8.30 J Meek v G Macdonald
8.40 S Wood v T Mactaggart
8.50 H McCook v J Free
9.00 G Paton v A Summers 


J Rankine (Haggs Castle) bt K Reid (Monifieth) 3 and 2.
M Gardner (Linlithgow) bt C Garrett (West Kilbride) 3 and 2.
R Foster (Turnberry) bt L Atkins (Minto) 2 and 1.
H Scott (Broomieknowe) bt A McDonald (Bothwell Castle) 4 and 2.

J Graham (Southerness) bt P Wilson (Burntisland) 3 and 2.
W Nicholson (Baberton) bt D Young (North Berwick) 2 and 1
M Sievwright (Buckpool) bt C Irvine (Craigielaw) 2 and 1.
R Hunter (Lanark) bt L Macdonald (Cardross) at 20th. 

J Rankine bt M Gardner 6 and 4.
R Foster bt H Scott 2 and 1
W Nicholson bt J Graham 7 and 6.
R Hunter bt M Sievwright 1 hole

9.20 J Rankine v R Foster
9.28 W Nicholson v R Hunter