KirkwoodGolf: LPGA Tour report and scores

Thursday, April 14, 2016

LPGA Tour report and scores

Moriya enjoys a change of luck ... so far

Moriya Jutanugarn and Minjee Lee each shot 4-under 68 to take a share of the first round lead at the Lotte Championship in Ko Olina, Oahu, Hawaii on Wednesday. 
  Defending champ Sei Young Kim is in a five-way tie for third one stroke back of the leaders. Tied at 3 under with Kim are Alena Sharp, Brooke MacKenzie Henderson, Caroline Masson and Kim Kaufman.
Jutanugarn, ranked 123rd in the Rolex Rankings, has yet to record a top-25 finish this season and has missed the cut in her last two tournaments.
Coming off two consecutive victories, world No. 1 Lydia Ko is three strokes back of the leaders in T-13 after a 1-under 71. Lexi Thompson struggled to a 3-over 75 and is T-78 heading into the second round.
Inbee Park, who has finished T4-3-2, in her last three trips to Ko Olina is T-64 t

  Sei Young Kim who used five birdies against two bogeys to post 3-under, 69

“I like to play windy, because if into the wind I can hit the cut shot,” Kim said. “Even if the left to right wind, my nature fly right hook, so it’s easy today. Yeah, so very comfortable today.”
Kim has enjoyed her week in Hawaii as the defending champion.
“When I walk on the course a lot of memory coming at me,” Kim said with a smile. “So, yeah, very comfortable. Then, yeah, give me a lot of energy, that memory.”

Brooke MacKenzie Henderson in the hunt

Brooke MacKenzie Henderson, the Canadian who is proud of her Scottish ancestors, sits one back of the lead after firing an opening round 69
“It was really tough,” Henderson admitted. “The wind has been my big challenge. But it was a lot of fun. Going into today I just wanted to see the wind as something exciting and something to really play well in, and I did that so far.”
Last year Henderson was attempting to Monday Qualify for this event and missed out. The 18-year-old Canadian comes into the event a year later as an LPGA Tour winner who ranks seventh in the latest Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings.
“Last year in the qualifier it wasn’t that windy, so coming here this year it was kind of a little bit of a shock to see how windy it actually is.”
As she has for most of the season, Brooke had her sister Brittany on the bag.
“I think Brit and I did a really good job today of calculating wind and knowing where to land the ball. I think if can just we continue to do that, be a good next three days.”

Kono leads local players on Day One

Stephanie Kono shot an even par 72 to lead the group of three Hawaiians in the field.
“It was pretty windy. I hit a lot of good shots. I just tried to really have a good number on every hole and stick to that number and just put a good swing on it and see where it went. Luckily a few putts rolled in. It was tough, but it was a good day.”
Fellow Hawaiians Allisen Corpuz and Michelle Wie didn’t fare as well, shooting 77 and 80 respectively.


LOTTE Championship Presented by HERSHEY (Apr 13 - 16)

  • Course: Ko Olina Golf Club
  • Par: 72
  • Yardage: 6,383

T1 Minjee Lee 68
T1 Moriya Jutanugarn 68
T3 Brooke Henderson 69  
T3 Caroline Masson 69
T3 Alena Sharp 69
T3 Sei Young Kim 69
T3 Kim Kaufman 69
T8 Cristie Kerr 70
T8 Pernilla Lindberg 70
T8 Katie Burnett 70
T8 Nontaya Srisawang 70
T8 Eun-Hee Ji 70
T13 Joanna Klatten 71
T13 Suzann Pettersen 71
T13 Su-Hyun Oh 71
T13 Brianna Do 71
T13 Su Yeon Jang 71
T13 Azahara Munoz 71
T13 Lydia Ko 71
T13 Paula Reto 71
T13 Angela Stanford 71
T13 Marion Ricordeau 71
T23 Cydney Clanton 72
T23 Jing Yan 72
T23 Sandra Changkija 72
T23 Hye Jin Choi 72
T23 Paula Creamer 72
T23 Brittany Lang 72
T23 Mo Martin 72
T23 Celine Herbin 72
T23 Beatriz Recari 72
T23 Demi Runas 72
T23 Kelly Shon 72
T23 Ashleigh Simon 72
T23 Becky Morgan 72
T23 Stephanie Kono 72
T23 Belen Mozo 72
T23 Haru Nomura 72
T23 Kris Tamulis 72
T23 Ariya Jutanugarn 72
T23 Mi Hyang Lee 72
T23 So Yeon Ryu 72
T23 Danielle Kang 72
T23 Thidapa Suwannapura 72
T23 Maude-Aimee Leblanc 72
T23 Min Lee 72
T47 Chella Choi 73
T47 Shanshan Feng 73
T47 Mi Jung Hur 73
T47 Lee-Anne Pace 73
T47 Samantha Richdale 73
T47 Julie Yang 73
T47 Sarah Jane Smith 73
T47 Simin Feng 73
T47 Gaby Lopez 73
T47 Pornanong Phatlum 73
T47 Jodi Ewart Shadoff 73
T47 Ayako Uehara 73
T47 Haeji Kang 73
T47 Sadena Parks 73
T47 Lee Lopez 73
T47 Sydnee Michaels 73
T47 Budsabakorn Sukapan 73
T64 P.K. Kongkraphan 74
T64 Bertine Strauss 74
T64 In Gee Chun 74
T64 Jenny Shin 74
T64 Sakura Yokomine 74
T64 Holly Clyburn 74
T64 Q Baek 74
T64 Katherine Kirk 74
T64 Briana Mao 74
T64 Tiffany Joh 74
T64 Jacqui Concolino 74
T64 Inbee Park 74
T64 Casey Grice 74
T77 Vicky Hurst 75
T77 Lindy Duncan 75
T77 Alison Walshe 75
T77 Ai Miyazato 75
T77 Sun Young Yoo 75
T77 Se Ri Pak 75
T77 Dori Carter 75
T77 Amelia Lewis 75
T77 Lexi Thompson 75
T77 Lizette Salas 75
T77 Brittany Lincicome 75
T77 Sarah Kemp 75
T77 Heather Bowie Young 75
T90 Jane Rah 76
T90 Karlin Beck 76
T90 Hyo Joo Kim 76
T90 Megan Khang 76
T90 Nannette Hill 76
T90 SooBin Kim 76
T90 Anne-Catherine Tanguay 76
T90 Suzuka Yamaguchi 76
T90 Benyapa Niphatsophon 76
T90 Daniela Iacobelli 76
T90 Jiayi Zhou 76
T101   Julieta Granada 77
T101   Allisen S Corpuz 77
T101    Cheyenne Woods 77
T101   Na Yeon Choi 77
T101 Mika Miyazato 77
T101 Nicole Jeray 77
T101 Christine Song 77
T101 Christel Boeljon 77
T101 Cyna Rodriguez 77
T101 Brittany Altomare 77
T101 Min Seo Kwak 77
T101 Xi Yu Lin 77
T101 Jaye Marie Green 77
T101 Ashlan Ramsey 77
T115 Yueer Cindy Feng 78
T115 Kelly Tan 78
T115 Pannarat Thanapolboonyar 78
T115 Mina Harigae 78
T115 Alejandra Llaneza 78
T115 Alison Lee 78
T115 Laetitia Beck 78
T115 Dewi Claire Schreefel 78
T115 Giulia Molinaro 78
T124 Meena Lee 79
T124 Caroline Westrup 79
T124 Lisa Ferrero 79
T124 Amy Anderson 79
T124 Wei-Ling Hsu 79
T124 Jaclyn Jansen 79
T124 Rachel Rohanna 79
T131 Pavarisa Yoktuan 80
T131 Wichanee Meechai 80
T131 Grace Na 80
T131 Natalie Gulbis 80
T131 Michelle Wie 80
T131 Yuting Shi 80
T131 Prima Thammaraks 80
T131 Ji Young Oh 80
T139 Ryann O'Toole 81
T139 Ashleigh Albrecht 81
T139 Giulia Sergas 81
T139 Ani Gulugian 81
143 Annie Park 83
144 Dani Holmqvist 84