KirkwoodGolf: Banchory Acad win handicap trophy, Michael Lawrie leading individual

Monday, August 31, 2015

Banchory Acad win handicap trophy, Michael Lawrie leading individual



Banff Academy heroes (l to r): Ellis Gray, Callum Bruce andCallum Irvine. Picture by Michael MacDougall of PLF Foundation.

By Derek Johnstone
Banff Academy, represented by Callum Bruce, Callum Irvine and Ellis Gray, won the Paul Lawrie Foundation Schools’ Team Challenge Scratch Trophy for the first time at Peterculter Golf Club today.

Team captain Bruce led the way with a two-over-par 73, while Irvine and Gray contributed 77 and 79 respectively for a team total of 229 and a winning margin of s ix strokes. 
Runners-up were defending champions, Robert Gordon’s College for whom Michael Lawrie  had a 72, Henri Charles an 81 and Cameron Black an 82).
Aboyne Academy’s Shannon McWilliam (75), Dominic Bradburn (80) and Kyle Harker (81) third on 236. 

There was some consolation for young Lawrie when he picked up the best individual scratch prize.  His one-over-par score had two birdies – at the fourth and 13th – but they were cancelled out  by dropped shots at the first, second and 12th. 
     Banchory Academy's winning trio (l to r): Ben Martin, Ferghus Milne and Jack Thomson.
         Picture by Michael MacDougall, manager of Paul Lawrie Foundation

There was a three-way tie for the Handicap Trophy with Aberdeen Grammar School, Banchory Academy and Inverurie Academy all finishing with net 223 totals. 
Banchory claimed their first Team Challenge title after a card countback.  Their team players and individual scores were: Ferghus Milne (4) 71, Jack Thomson (8) 73 and Ben Martin (13) 79.  Aberdeen Grammar School were runners-up and Inverurie third.


CSS: Boys 71(+1).  Girls 71 (No change)


229 Banff Academy

235 Robert Gordon's College

236 Aboyne Academy

238 Aberdeen Grammar School

239 Hazlehead Academy

246 Inverurie Academy

248 Banchory Academy

255 Meldrum Academy

260 Alford Academy

267 Ellon Academy

273 Cults Academy

279 Kincorth/Torry Academy

280 The Gordon Schools, Huntly

285 Westhill Academy

337 Albyn School


219 Banff Academy (A team cannot win both the scratch and handicap leading awards)

223 Banchory Academy, Aberdeen Grammar School, Inverurie Academy, Aboyne Academy

224 Robert Gordon’s College

226 Hazlehead Academy

227 Meldrum Academy

228 Alford Academy

229 Cults Academy

233 Westhill Academy

235 The Gordon Schools, Huntly

244 Ellon Academy

251 Kincorth/Torry Academy

275 Albyn School