KirkwoodGolf: SLGA AGM

Sunday, January 29, 2012


Dewars Centre, Perth, Saturday 28th January 2011
A very healthy turnout of members attended the SLGA AGM in Perth on Saturday.
The meeting started on a sombre note as out-going President, Emma Wilson, asked for a moment's silence to remember three stalwarts of the Scottish women's game who died within the last year.  They were past British Champion and Curtis Cup player Moira Milton,  past Vet's Captain and President Liz Miskimmin and Scottish Senior Internationalist Moira Thomson.
Reports of the year's activities, finances and LGU activities were ably given by SLGA Chairman, Shona Malcolm, Finance Director, Lynne Terry, and LGU Representative on the SLGA Board, Lorna Bennett.
Chairman, Shona, expressed disappointment that the proposed merger with the SGU, which gained a 94% vote in favour at the SLGA EGM on May, was not supported on the men's side.   The SLGA board is anticipating  a revised proposal in the near future and will give it due consideration then.
Shona Malcolm remains as Chairman for a further year,  and Aberdeen's Margaret McNaughton has take over from Emma Wilson as President.  Lynne Terry retired after 10 years as Finance director.  The SLGA are still looking for a successor.  Performance director, Beth Paterson retired from the Board after four years sterling service, and her position has been taken by Ayrshire's Isobel Crawford.  Chairman of selectors Sandy Bushby (P&K) also retired from the board and has been replaced by Janet Griffiths.
Isobel Crawford's last year as Scottish representative on the LGU International Selection Panel finishes after the Curtis Cup in June, when Fiona de Vries takes over the role.   Noreen Fenton (Midlothian) replaces Margaret Tough (S&C) as East Division selector and Addi Shamash replaces Martine Pow as South Division selector.  They join Cara Gruber (North) and Anne Laing (West) to complete the SLGA Selection Committee.
Subscriptions remain the same for a further year, and some minor tidying up of the regulations governing SLGA Championships and other tournaments was unanimously approved.
The meeting finished within an hour with a very able Vote of Thanks from Mary Richardson, Captain of Midlothian County Ladies.